We are always looking for a diet that helps us lose weight without deprivation or counting calories and other things that make dieting more difficult. There are many types of diet that are really suitable and applicable for a long period of time without feeling bored, including the French points diet. What is this diet? How does it work? In this article, you will find a complete guide on the French diet. 

What is the French diet points?

The French points diet is considered one of the healthy diets, during which it is allowed to eat healthy, balanced food rich in nutrients that the body needs, including carbohydrates, protein, fats, vegetables and fruits, and no food is to be deprived. The French points diet depends on determining the quantity and quality of food that a person can eat per day, according to his points. Take a paper and a pen and write down your points according to the method we will give you below.

The method of calculating points according to the French diet points

By calculating the points, you can know what you can eat during the day, according to the French points diet. The points needed by the body are calculated based on several things, namely:

1- Points according to gender

  • The woman gets 7 points.
  • The man gets 15 points.

2- Points according to length

  • If the person's height is less than 161 cm, he gets 1 point.
  • But if the person is more than 161 cm tall, he gets two points.

3- Points according to age

  • The age group from 12 to 20 years get 5 points.
  • From 21 to 35 years old, they get 4 points.
  • From 36 to 50 years old, they get 3 points.
  • From 51 to 65 years old, they get two points.

4- Points according to weight

  • Points are determined according to the weight of each person by taking the first number, for example:
  • The person whose weight is 60 kg gets 6 points.
  • The person whose weight is 75 kg gets 7 points.
  • The person whose weight is 80 kg gets 8 points.

5- Points according to physical activity

  • The person who performs physical activity gets 2 points.
  • The person who stands at work for long periods gets one point.
  • As for the person who does not perform any activity during the day, he does not get any points.

Note: All the points that you obtained are collected according to the previous data to obtain a final number that enables you to know the quantity and type of foods that you can eat according to the French Points Diet.

Example of the method of calculating points according to the French diet points

Let's consider that Rima is a 25-year-old girl, weighs about 61 kilograms, and is 150 centimeters tall. She does not work or do sports. By looking at the method of calculating the points that we mentioned in the previous point, Rima will get the following numbers:

  • 7 points for being a girl.
  • 4 points being 25 years old.
  • 6 points for being 61 years old.
  • 1 point for being less than 160 centimeters tall.
  • Don't work, don't do physical activity, then you don't get any activity points.

Total points: 18=0+1+6+4+7

How to use the score to see the quantity and quality of food 

Let's continue by adopting the ideal, through the arithmetic process, Rima learned that her set of points is 18, that is, by another saying, she is entitled to eat food that totals 18 every day. Nutritious foods get fewer points, while fast foods that contain calories get Many get more points, while fruits and vegetables are devoid of points. From here, the more foods you choose with low points (i.e. healthy foods, vegetables, and fruits) the more you can eat, and the more foods you eat with high points (such as fatty foods) the less you can eat. Through this, you will either lose weight or maintain your weight. Here is a table of points for some foods:

  • Apple: Point.
  • Medium banana: 2 points.
  • Mango: 2 points.
  • Orange: point.
  • Peaches: point.
  • Cucumber, lettuce, broccoli and all vegetables: travel.
  • Oranges, citrus fruits, or a glass of their juice: 3 points.
  • Sugary fruits such as strawberries and berries or their juice: 4 points.
  • Lemon juice in food or salads: zero.
  • Beef: 4 points.
  • Kofta: Point you slice.
  • Cooked chicken: 2 points per slice.
  • Boiled egg: two points.
  • Catfish: 6 points.
  • Cooked shrimp: 1 point.
  • Cob: 2 points.
  • Butter spoon: point.
  • Cheeseburger: 8 points.
  • A slice of pizza: 6 points.
  • A piece of lasagna with meat: 6 points.
  • Boiled potatoes: 3 points.
  • Cooked rice: 4 points.
  • Vegetable soup: point.
  • Smoked salmon: 4 points.
  • Sardines canned in oil: 3 points.
  • Feta cheese: 2 points.
  • Mozzarella cheese: two points.
  • Fat-free cheese: 1 point.
  • Cooked wheat and grains: 2 points.
  • Skim milk: 1 point.
  • Low-fat milk: 2 points.
  • Whole milk: 4 points.
  • Yogurt: 4 points.
  • A cup of skim milk: a point.
  • Tahini spoon: two points.
  • Tea of ​​all kinds without sugar: 2 points.
  • Light mayonnaise: 2 points.
  • Soy: period.
  • Chocolate: 3 points.
  • Popcorn punch: a point.

By looking at the special points for each type of food, Rima can, for example, eat during one day: a cup of skim milk (1 point) with a boiled egg (2 points) in the morning, a piece of chocolate (3 points), smoked salmon for lunch with vegetables (4 points ), with a piece of bread (2 points), a glass of strawberry juice during the afternoon (4 points), feta cheese with vegetables in the evening (2 points), a total of 18 points during the day, which is the number allowed for Rima according to the French points diet.